The United Kingdom Overseas Territories and the European Union: Benefits and Prospects

  • Written by Dr Peter Clegg, Senior Lecturer in Politics
  • Published in Business

There are 14 United Kingdom Overseas Territories (UKOTs) spread across the globe, of which nine are directly associated with the European Union (EU) via the Overseas Association Decision (OAD) adopted by the EU in 2013. These are Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands (BVI), Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Montserrat, Pitcairn, St Helena and Turks and Caicos Islands. Ascension and Tristan da Cunha fall under St Helena in the OAD. Historically the most important relationship the UKOTs have had is with the United Kingdom (UK), but over the last fifteen years links with the EU have grown.

Last modified onTuesday, 14 June 2016 14:03

Leave a comment